Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Sarah Jessica Parker appointed to Obama’s arts panel

Actress Sarah Jessica Parker along with Forest Whitaker, Bryan Lourd, Edward Norton, Kerry Washington, Alfre Woodard, George Wolfe, Liz Manne and Andy Spahn, are among the Hollywood celebrities named as members of President Barack Obama's Committee on Arts and the Humanities. Michelle Obama is Committee on Arts and the Humanities’ honorary chairwoman and film producer George Stevens Jr. and theater producer Margo Lion had already been named as its co-chairs.

The panel has 25 celebrities from arts and entertainment fields and it also included cellist Yo Yo Ma, Vogue editor Anna Wintour, philanthropist Teresa Heinz, architect Thom Moore and ballet dancer Damian Woetzel. The panel endeavors to promote arts and humanities education, cultural diplomacy, economic revitalization through arts and humanities and special events.

No comments: