Monday, February 22, 2010

Vanessa Redgrave made Academy Fellow in 2010

Actress Vanessa Redgrave
2010_02-bafta-324, originally uploaded by 601TV.

English actress of stage, screen and television Vanessa Redgrave CBE, is a member of the Redgrave family of actors. She is the daughter of Sir Michael Redgrave, sister of Lynn Redgrave and is the mother of Hollywood actresses Joely Richardson and the late Natasha Richardson. She rose to stardom in 1961 playing Rosalind in ‘As You Like It’, and has since made more than 35 appearances on London's West End and Broadway. On the big screen, she has starred in more than 80 films, including Mary, Queen of Scots, Isadora, Mission: Impossible and Mrs Dalloway. She was proclaimed by Tennessee Williams to be 'the greatest living actress of our times' and she remains the only British actress to ever have won the Oscar, Emmy, Tony, Cannes, Golden Globe and the Screen Actors Guild awards.

Redgrave was honored with the 2010 BAFTA Fellowship for ‘Outstanding Contribution to Film made Academy Fellow. Since Alfred Hitchcock in 1971, the Academy Fellowship continues to reward the outstanding achievement of remarkable individuals working in films, television, etc. Some of the last few Academy Fellows are: Terry Gilliam (2009), Nolan Bushnell (2009), Dawn French & Jennifer Saunders (2009), Anthony Hopkins (2008), Bruce Forsyth (2008), Anne V. Coates OBE (2007), Richard Curtis (2007), Will Wright (2007), Lord Puttnam CBE (2006), Ken Loach (2006), John Barry OBE (2005), and Sir David Frost (2005).

No comments: